AP United States History Development Committee

2022-23 Development Committee Members

These dedicated educators play a critical role in the preparation of the Course and Exam Description and exam for AP U.S. History. They represent a diversity of knowledge and points of view in their fields and, as a group, are the authority when it comes to making subject-matter decisions in the exam-construction process. The AP development committees represent a unique collaboration between high school and college educators.

Committee Co-Chairs

Denver Brunsman, George Washington University – Washington, District of Columbia 
Melissa Smith, Cyprus High School – Magna, Utah 

Committee Members 

Cherise Jones-Branch, Arkansas State University – State University, Arkansas 
Natalie Mendoza Gutierrez, University of Colorado Boulder – Boulder, Colorado 
Joshua McGehee, Page High School – Greensboro, North Carolina  
Cheryl Verhey, Jones College Prep High School – Chicago, Illinois 

College Board Advisor 

Jose Gregory, Marist School – Atlanta, Georgia 

Chief Reader Associate 

Hilary Green, Davidson College – Davidson, North Carolina 

Chief Reader 

Michelle Kuhl, University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh – Oshkosh, Wisconsin