AP Music Theory Development Committee

2023-24 Development Committee Members

These dedicated educators play a critical role in the preparation of the Course and Exam Description and exam for AP Music Theory. They represent a diversity of knowledge and points of view in their fields and, as a group, are the authority when it comes to making subject-matter decisions in the exam-construction process. The AP development committees represent a unique collaboration between high school and college educators.

Committee Co-Chairs  

Inessa Bazayev, Louisiana State University – Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Diane McFarlene, Oconee Christian Academy – Seneca, South Carolina 

Committee Members  

Cynthia Gonzalez, Texas State University – San Marcos, Texas  
Jenine Brown, The Peabody Conservatory of The Johns Hopkins University – Baltimore, Maryland  
Charles Whitner Blount, Myers Park High School – Charlotte, North Carolina 
Kary Haddad, Columbia Grammar and Preparatory School – New York, New York
Akira Sato, Plano West Senior High School – Plano, Texas  

Chief Reader   

Ronald Rodman, Carleton College – Northfield, Minnesota

Chief Reader Designate 

Melissa Hoag, Oakland University – Rochester, Michigan