What’s the difference between the default setting and advanced setting for the student exam decision indicator?

Print this page
beginning of content:

You can change the student exam decision indicator setting only within 7 days of completing setup. See For how long am I able to change the student exam decision indicator setting? 

With the default setting all students who enroll in class sections before November 13, 2020, are directly included in your exam roster. You'll likely prefer to leave the default setting if your school requires students in AP courses to take the corresponding exam or if your school only administers AP Exams without offering courses. If this is the option you prefer, you don’t need to change the setting.

With the default setting, on the Students page in AP Registration and Ordering , you'll see Yes listed in the Order Exam? column next to each student's name once the student has enrolled in a class section. Be sure to review the roster and each student's exam registration status.

The screenshot below shows the student roster after students have enrolled in class sections when the default setting is used.

If you select the advanced setting, students need to indicate their exam registration by a deadline that the AP coordinator specifies. All students who enroll in class sections are set at an Order Exam? status of Undecided. Even with the advanced setting, AP coordinators have the ability to make final changes to the exam roster, including changes to students' exam registrations as necessary.

When the advanced setting is enabled, the AP coordinator selects a student decision deadline—the date by which students need to register for exams. The AP coordinator may also choose whether they'd like AP teachers to be able to edit students' exam registrations.

For details about the student exam decision indicator setting, see pages 61–64 in the 2020-21 AP Coordinator's Manual, Part 1.